Skip to content

Halpern & Christenfeld Inc. aka H BAR C

August 27, 2010

It was a lucky Sunday when I scored this collection of original “display card” silver gelatin prints circa 1950 from H Bar C. Here’s a short history from fuzzylizzie.com (by way of the Vintage Fashion Guild):

H Bar C has its roots in a company formed in 1917 by two tailors, Halpern and Christenfeld, as a maker of riding clothing.  In 1935 a western branch was open to make and market Western riding clothes.  This business was renamed H Bar C, to give it a Western flair.  H Bar C made clothes for the movies, and they also marketed their clothes for the growing Western wear market. The H Bar C logo on the sign was trademarked in 1941, and has been used in various versions since that time.

These were simpler times when a manly man outfitted him and his entire family from the H Bar C catalog, and was never without his trusty rope:

34 Photos in all, which came in this tattered envelope. An ancient H Bar C tag line sits below the address of the New York City offices 101 West 21st St, New York

I can’t help thinking of Fallout 3. Yes, I wasted an embarrassing amount of time on this silly game:

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Crazybubba permalink
    August 29, 2010 12:15 pm

    I love the one titled “cinder”, it looks like he’s wearing a matching tie. There are several pics where it looks like the heads were photoshopped on (like Jackson and Jaskson Jr.)?

  2. August 30, 2010 9:19 am

    amazing.

  3. HerbG permalink
    September 1, 2010 10:44 am

    These are great. My Dad worked for Halpern & Christenfeld his entire career, as did my grandfather and aunt. Several other family members also worked there for shorter periods. The Christenfeld family took over the company, with 5 brothers running it after their father died, one of whom later moved to California to start an affiliated company (California Ranchwear, with a similar logo, but more stylish clothing). After the oldest brother died, the others tried to keep it going but it ultimately failed. They had their offices and factory on the top floors of 101 W. 21st St, and a showroom at 1407 Broadway. The building is spectacular. starting out life as the Siegel-Cooper Dry Goods store (http://www.nyc-architecture.com/CHE/CHE018-Siegel-CooperDryGoodsStore.htm). It is still there. I still have a lot of original H Bar C clothing, some of which has never been worn.

    • September 1, 2010 10:57 am

      Wow! Amazing! I love the internet! Thanks for the comment HerbG.

    • Sam Packard permalink
      September 12, 2011 9:22 am

      These are awesome shots! I’ve been searching for information on the H Bar C catalog, and all this is great to see. HerbG, do you have any recommendations on how to match and find western pants that match the polyester HBarC shirts (newer than those pictured on this page)? I appreciate it!

    • Michael Yarbrough permalink
      October 9, 2011 5:30 am

      My father and I used to manufacture men’s western pants and also dress pants for H & C and also California Ranchwear. There was a gentleman that I dealt with named Sam Gendus, who was a wonderful guy to work with. I’ve often wondered if he is alive. He told me that he was a World War II fighter pilot in the pacific theater. If you were to have any info on this I’d aprreciate you letting me know. Thanks

  4. moritz permalink
    November 6, 2011 3:11 pm

    Hi! While searching for vintage ads, i just discovered you fine blog. You show some phantastic H-bar-C pictures. Currently I write an article about the history of the western shirt. Please allow me to ask if I may use some of these for my article. Please contact me. Regards, Moritz

Leave a Reply

